Green-Wood Cemetery, a National Historic Landmark, is New York’s first pastoral cemetery and its first great work of landscape design. Starting in 1838, it established the pattern of open-air movement in a planned landscape that inspired Central Park and its successors. The circa 1876 Caretaker’s Residence and Visitor’s Cottage at the Fort Hamilton entrance were designed by Richard Upjohn & Sons, the same architects as the landmark Gothic entry gate at the main entrance.
A key feature of the Residence and Visitor’s Cottage is the cast iron cresting that decorates each pitched roof ridge. Only a small portion of the original remained; using the few remaining pieces, the configuration of each unique section of cresting was reproduced.
Another challenge was to replicate the widow’s walk atop the Residence main tower. Dating to the 1920’s, the widows walk featured exuberant corner finals that echoed the ivy motif found in the cresting. Based on original photographs, the lacy design of the railing was recreated by Allen using modern laser cutting from sheets of steel.